Nigeria is the first African country to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup to be staged in Russia.

The Super Eagles beat Zambia 1-0 on Saturday to finish top of Group B with 13 points, six points ahead of the 2012 Africa champions.

But the journey to Russia 2018 started for the Super Eagles in 2015.

After a 0-0 draw in Lobamba on 13th November, Moses Simon and Efe Ambrose got the goals that qualified Nigeria for the group phase at the Adokiye Amiesiamaka Stadium, Port Harcourt on 17th November 2015.

On 9th October 2016, Nigeria defeated Zambia 2-1 in Ndola with goals from Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho and on 12th November 2016, they overcame Algeria 3-1 in Uyo. Two of the goals were by Victor Moses and the other by Captain John Mikel Obi.

On 1st September 2017, African champions Cameroon suffered a 4-0 reverse in Uyo (the goals by Odion Ighalo, Mikel, Moses and Iheanacho), and three days later in Yaounde, the Eagles were forced to a 1-1 draw. Moses Simon scored Nigeria’s goal.

On Saturday, 7th October 2017, the Super Eagles got the job done, beating the Chipolopolo 1-0 with a 74th minute goal by Alex Iwobi.

Seven different players have scored Nigeria’s 13 goals of the series so far: Victor Moses (3), Mikel Obi, Alex Iwobi, Moses Simon, Kelechi Iheanacho (2 each), Odion Ighalo and Efe Ambrose (one each).

ALSO WATCH: Celebration As Nigeria Beats Zambia 1-0 To Qualify For The 2018 FIFA World Cup