Nigerians preparing to take part in the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) that will begin on Thursday have been warned to avoid standing in for anyone.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says there shall be no room for registration by proxy.

The Acting Administrative Secretary of the commission in the Federal Capital Territory, Ahmed Umar, gave the warning on Tuesday at a stakeholders’ meeting on the exercise in Abuja.

According to him, registration by proxy will render the voter card invalid, as the registration and voting would be done through biometrics.

“The legal doorway to effective participation in the electoral process is personal registration and possession of a voter card,” he stressed.

The continuous voter registration, that will be conducted through the year, is in compliance with the provisions of the Electoral Act and  Umar said the exercise would hold in the six Area Councils of the FCT.

He, however, notes that a break period would be observed at the end of every quarter “to carry out data aggregation to facilitate the printing of the permanent voter cards of those captured”.

The exercise will be conducted between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. from Monday to Friday at the INEC’s offices in the area councils.

“There will be no registration, transfer document and distribution of PVCs during public holidays and the last week of each quarter would be for display and hearing of claims and objections.

“Those eligible for CVR are Nigerians who turned 18 years after the last exercise, those who have not registered before and registered voters who have transfer voter cards but their names are not on the register of voters.

“I urge you to go in person to the registration centre in the area council where you reside because INEC will not allow another person to stand in for you.

“It is an offence to register more than once. There are designated officers at all the centres to assist the physically-challenged and illiterates.

“Register to vote. It is your right, No PVC, no voting,” he reiterated.

There would be a team of four registration officers and one distribution officer at each centre.

Any voter seeking to transfer his or her registration should apply to the Resident Electoral Commissioner, FCT.