For some, it is more of medicine after death following an announcement by Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan that they have released 20 out of the 40 players they registered for the last Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) season.

The club’s management, in a statement in Ibadan by its Media Officer, Jubril Arowolo, said this was part of their ongoing restructuring programme.

3SC were one of the four clubs that were relegated after the 2016/2017 season of the NPFL was completed weeks back and they will now be campaigning in the Nigeria National League next season.

The statement disclosed that the decision to release the players and place them in the transfer market was taken after evaluating the performances of every player in the team.

It listed players retained to include Abubakar Adamu, Michael Uweru, Kayode Bankole, Seun Akinyemi, Alaba Osawe, Omololu Waheed, Opeyemi Adetoyi, Oginni Olatubosun, Ayobami Abiodun, Shile Ibrahim and Sunday Faleye.

Others are Jide Apena, Abayomi Adebayo, Rafiu Wasiu, Shittu Taiwo, Isiaq Rafiu, Ajani Ibrahim, Kunle Olukokun, Bode Daniel and Sherrif Sanda.

“The club’s remaining 20 players, whose names did not appear on the list, have been placed on transfer and will not be part of the team when the new season commences," the statement announced.

It added that a number of new players would be added to the list of the players retained after a thorough screening, for the list of players for the 2017/2018 season.