It doesn’t get any worse for Nigerian workers at the state level.

Despite getting lower pay compared to their counterparts at the federal level, and being owed for months, they don’t get any contributions from their employers for retirement.

This revelation is coming from the government agency in charge of pensions, the National Pension Commission, PenCom – that only 12 of 36 states in Nigeria are contributing to their workers’ retirement savings.

The states not paying include: Imo, Sokoto, Ekiti, Kogi, Bayelsa, Nasarawa, Oyo, and Katsina. Others are Akwa Ibom, Edo, Benue, Kwara, Plateau, Cross River, Enugu and Abia.

The list also includes Ebonyi, Taraba, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Yobe and Adamawa.

Also Read: Get Ready For Price Increase On Some Goods

These 12 states are among those that have enacted the Contributory Pension Scheme laws and have been funding the pension accounts of their workers as of the end of June 2018.

In the report on ‘Implementation update by the State Governments’ PenCom stated, “Twelve out of the 36 states had commenced remittance of contributions into the RSAs of their employees. Similarly, eight states have commenced the funding of their Retirement Benefit Bond Redemption Fund Accounts”.

PenCom noted that the state governments continued to make progress in the level of implementation of the CPS.

As of the first quarter of 2018, it said, the number of states that had enacted laws on the CPS stood at 27, while eight states were at the bill stage.

In fact, one state had yet to commence the process of enacting a law to reform its pension system, it noted.

Don't forget to share this story with your friends.

Also Watch: