The Senate President, Bukola Saraki, has reshuffled the leadership of some committees.

Senator Andy Uba from Anambra state and Senator Fatima Raji Rasaki from Ekiti state were the major casualties of the minor committee reshuffle.

Saraki made the announcement shortly before the senate adjourned on Tuesday.

Aside from the minor reshuffle which saw the Senate President moving around Chairmen of six committees, one new committees was created, bringing up the total committees in the Senate to 69.

Uba was removed as Chairman of the Public Account Committee and made the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Interior.

The Interior Committee was formerly headed by Senator George Sekibo who was removed by the Supreme Court from the chamber and asked to be replaced by Andrew Uchendo.

Uba’s removal was mainly instigated by his defection from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC) where he contested and lost the race for the APC Governorship ticket for the 2018 Anambra State Governorship election.

The Public Account committee is the only constitutional recognised committee of the parliament, which by convention, is headed by a member of the opposition party.

The position has been given to Senator Matthew Urhogide from Edo state, who used to lead the Culture and Tourism Committee.

Senator Fatima Raji Rasaki lost her former position as Chairman, Senate Committee on Trade and Investment and is now to take over from Urhogide as head of the less glamorous Culture and Tourism Committee.

Also, Stella Oduah was upgraded from her former position as committee Vice Chairman as she’s now to lead the committee on Cooperation and Integration as the substantive Chairman.

The position was formerly held by senator Abubakar Sani Danladi who was also sent packing from the senate by the Supreme Court.

Senator Adeola Olamilekan from Lagos state is to lead the newly created Senate Committee on Local Content.

Senator Bukar Mustapha from Katsina State is to head the Senate Committee on Capital Market.

The position was held by late Senator Isiaka Adeleke.

This is the third time the Senate President will be carrying out minor reshuffle of the committee leadership since he came into office in 2015.


ALSO WATCH: Documentary: What exactly do you know about the 'Biafra war'?