Nigeria’s long wait to have one of her players win the BBC African Footballer of the year award has been further elongated.

Egypt and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah on Monday beat in-form Nigeria and Super Eagles star, Victor Moses to the 2017 award in a ceremony held in England.

Austin Okocha is the last Nigerian male player to win the award having won it in 2003 and 2004.

Aside from Moses, Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Guinean Naby Keita, and Sadio Mane of Senegal were the other beaten finalists for the 2017 BBC Award.

ALSO READ: CAF Award: Oshoala Gets Another Nomination

"I am very happy to win this award," Salah told BBC Sport after emerging as the top gun.

"It's always a special feeling when you win something. I feel like I had a great year, so I'm very happy."

Salah, the Premier League's top scorer with 13 goals, has enjoyed a stellar year for both club and country.

In early 2017, the forward was the central figure for Egypt as they finished runners-up at the Africa Cup of Nations.

Salah also helped his country secure a ticket to the world after almost 20 years of absence.

ALSO WATCH: Bounce Sports: How Far Will The Super Eagles Go In Russia