The Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) has won in all the 16 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Ekiti State in Saturday’s election into Chairmanship and Councillorship seats.

According to results from the Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission (EKSIEC), the party also emerged victorious in all the 177 wards in the state.

According to all the Returning Officers, who were senior academic staff members from tertiary institutions in Ekiti and Ondo states and who took turn to announce the results on Saturday night between 8.30 p.m. and 10:00 p.m. at the SIEC office in Ado-Ekiti, State capital, the local government election was keenly contested by all the five political parties that participated.

The parties included Action Democratic Party, (ADP), National Democratic Liberty Party, (NDLP), Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), People’s Party of Nigeria, (PPN) and Social Democratic Party (SDP).

Recall that the All Progressive Congress (APC) had said it would boycot the election.

In Ido Osi, LGA of the state, Returning Officer Isaac Babatunde, announced PDP’s Aladedemi Tunde as winner, having polled a total of 24,432 votes against his closest in NDLP’s candidate who polled 121.

In Ekiti East LGA, PDP’s Ogundana Sikiru Sunday was winner having polled 27, 918 votes against his closest opponents of ADP and NDLP who polled 231 votes.

In Irepodun Ifelodun LG, Governor Fayose LGA, Ebenezer Tunde Bisi, who is Returning Officer, announced PDP’s Dapo Olagunju as winner having polled 31,724 votes against his second runner up of ADP who polled 1361 votes. While in Moba LGA, Returning Officer Clement Olaoye, announced PDP’s Ayeni James as winner, having polled 20,444 votes to defeat the opposition in ADP who polled 237.

In Ikere-Ekiti, Ekiti State’s second largest number of voters, PDP’s Ayeni Aderemi Ezekiel, polled 22,354, to emerge winner and in Oye LGA, Sunday Alonge of PDP polled 29,380 to emerge winner.

Ikole LGA has Abiola Racheal Olukayode of PDP polling 29,956 to emerge the winner, while in Efon LGA, Yemi Owoeye, emerged winner with 11,900 votes.

In Ekiti South West, Omolase Lanre of PDP polled 24,657, to emerge winner while Akindele Ogidi, also of PDP in Gbonyin LGA, scored 24,940 to emerge the winner.

In Ise-Orun LGA, Kolawole Oluropo polled 26,420 to emerge the winner and in Ekiti West LGA, Ayodeji Daniel Francis polled 23,162 to emerge the winner as announced by Returning Officer Faparusi Michela OlubunmI. 

Iin Emure LG, Ayenimopa Idowu announced PDP’s Olubayode Okeya who polled 15,293 votes against ADP’s candidate who polled 201 votes, as the winner.

In Ilejemeje LGA, PDP’s Awolola Sunday Johnson polled 7303 to emerge as winner as announced by returning officer Ojo Olutope Stephen.

In Ijero LGA, Bayo Ojo, who is Returning Officer, Provost of Ijero College of health technology, announced PDP’s Dada Biodun as winner having polled 23,587 votes as against the Second Runner up who polled 233 and for NDLP.

In AdoEkiti , the capital city with largest number of electorate, PDP’s Bamisile O Clement emerged as the winner by polling 43,262 votes against ADP’s candidate who polled 770 votes as announced by Fasiku Adesola Mercy.

Addressing reporters and other stakeholders shortly after the announcement of the results by all the Returning Officers in the LGAs, Chairman of Ekiiti State Independent Electoral Commission (EKSIEC), Justice Kayode Bamisile, a retired Justice, said it was peaceful, violent free, fair and free.

WATCH THE NEW AGE OF #DigitalRunsGirls