Another member of the House of Representatives from Ondo State, Mayowa Akinfolarin, has dumped the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmaker, representing Ileoluji-Okeigbo/Odigbo Federal constituency, defected to the APC with hundreds of supporters on Saturday.

At the event held in Ore, Odigbo Local Government Area, hundreds of Akinfolarin’s followers from the six local government areas in his senatorial district followed him to the APC.

The Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, the deputy governor, Agboola Ajayi,  the Acting Chairman of the APC in Ondo State, Ade Adetimehin, and other leaders of the party were at the event.

ALSO READ: Another PDP Rep Dumps Party For APC

Akinfolarin said the PDP is no longer what it used to be, adding that the party has accommodated too many bad eggs.

He said, “I don’t want to be like the stubborn fly that follows a dead body into the grave.”

Welcoming the defectors, Adetimehin said the APC had a very big room to accommodate more people, saying any member of the opposition would be accepted into the party.

PDP has lost seven of its lawmakers to other political parties in 2017 alone.

The defection of  Akinfolarin brings the number to eight.

The earlier defectors were Edward Pwajok (Plateau), Adamu Kamale (Adamawa), Hassan Sale (Benue), Zephaniah Jisalo (FCT), Yusuf Tijjani (Kogi), Nnanna Igbokwe (Imo) and Johnson Agbonayinma (Edo).

WATCH THE NEW AGE OF #DigitalRunsGirls