There is a new sheriff in the Oyo State House of Assembly.

His name is Olagunjo Ojo - he previously served as Minority Leader of the Oyo State House of Assembly.

He was on Tuesday sworn-in as the new Speaker after a rowdy session.

ALSO READ - PHOTOS: Do You Know Gombe Has Become A Tourist Destination?

Ojo (LP-Orire) emerged the new Speaker following his unopposed nomination by Joshua Oyebamiji (APC-Akinyele I), seconded by Gbenga Oyekola (LP-Atiba).

The election of a new Speaker was necessitated by the sudden demise of the former Speaker, Michael Adeyemo, on April 27.

Ojo, a former Deputy Speaker in the fourth assembly (1999-2003), in his acceptance speech, promised to work in harmony with the other lawmakers in honour of the late Speaker and in the interest of the people they represent.