The Osun West senatorial byelection has commenced across the 911 voting centers of the 10 local government areas in the district.

Bounce News is live in Osun and we intend to follow the election as it progresses.

Voters in local government like Egbedore, Ede North and Ede South defied the early morning showers trooping out as early as 7am to do their part for their preferred candidates.

The two candidates in the election, have so far cast their votes at their respective polling units.

Ademola Adeleke of the PDP cast his vote at around 8.30am at ward 2 unit 9 Saagba Abogunde compound, Ede while Senator Hussain voted at 9:38am at Ward 3 unit 1, Beulah Primary School Ejigbo.

Both candidates have described the exercise as commendable and peaceful but we hope the songs don’t change when results start to trickle in.

With politicians, you can never tell.

Security was tightened as a combined team of Police, National Security and Civil Defence Corps, NSCDC and army officers were on ground to maintain law and order at the polls.

So far, encouraging turnout is being witnessed at most voting centers while vehicular movement has been restricted.

Some voters also commended INEC for the smooth running of the voting process particularly the voting machines.

As at the time of filing this report, accreditation and voting is still going on simultaneously with counting of votes expected to begin by 2pm when voting ends.