Ademola Adeleke, the senator representing Osun West, has won the governorship ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in his state.

The senator defeated his closest challenger, Akin Ogunbiyi, to emerge the flagbearer of the PDP in the September 22 governorship election.

Adeleke won by a close margin, securing 1569 votes while Ogunbiyi had 1562.

Fatai Akingbade placed third with 52 votes, while Nathaniel Oke made up the rear with three votes.

Seven of the 11 aspirants in the primary election withdrew early on Saturday when the exercise commenced.

Adejare Bello, Sunkanmi Akinlabi, Felix Jumoko, Ayoade Adewepo, Adeolu Durotoye, Jide Adeniji and Lere Akogun were the aspirants who stepped down from the race.

ALSO READ: 3 Quick Steps To Get New BOUNCE FOOTBALL Feature

Akinbade, Ogunbiyi, Adeleke and Oke were the four aspirants who saw the race to the end.

Some of the aspirants who withdrew pledged their support for Ogunbiyi while Adeleke also received the backing of a couple of them.

Adeleke, the winner of the primary, will represent the party in the governorship election scheduled for September 22.

The primary election was overseen by Gov Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State.

Isiaka Gboyega Oyetola, Chief of Staff to Gov Rauf Aregbesola was on Friday declared winner of the primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He will be Adeleke’s main challenger.

You like this article? Don’t forget to share it!

SHAYI SHAYI GANG: Why Nigeria's Drug Abuse Problem May Not End Soon (TRAILER)