Against the backdrop of the primary election of the All Progressive Congress (APC) scheduled to hold in Osogbo on Friday, the party held an emergency meeting with its 17 governorship contenders already cleared to partake in the exercise.

12 of the 17 aspirants had earlier rejected the direct mode of primary election as proclaimed by the National Chairman of the party, Adams Oshiomole.

The aspirants insisted that the method with which other elections had been conducted in recent past should be used for July 19 2018 APC primary election in the state.

During Thursday's meeting with the aspirants, there was a presence of heavy security around the secretariat of the party, located along around Ogo-Oluwa area of Osogbo.

A sizable number of policemen, operatives of the Department of State Security (DSS) were sighted with their patrol vans.

Similarly, one Armoured Personnel Carrier (APC) was also permanently stationed in front of the party’s secretariat to ensure effective security around the area.

READ: 3 Quick Steps To Get New BOUNCE FOOTBALL Feature

Some of the aspirants who attended the meeting include: the Speaker, Osun State House of Assembly, Hon Najeem Salaam, the Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Hon Lasun Yussuff, Hon Gafaar Amere, the Chief of Staff to Governor Rauf Aregbesola,  Gboyega Oyetola, Senator Babajide Omoworare, Saka Layonu, Hon Yinka Ajayi and Aderenle Oriolowo.

Try again

Others include Kunle Adegoke, the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Moshood Adeoti, Peter Babalola and host of others.

Some of the aspirants, who spoke to Bounce News said they would abide by the decision reached at the end of the meeting as loyal party men.

You like this article? Don’t forget to share it!

SHAYI SHAYI GANG: Why Nigeria's Drug Abuse Problem May Not End Soon (TRAILER)