The Peoples Democratic Party has demanded the immediate resignation of the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof Mahmood Yakubu.

The party made the demands over his alleged controlling role in the “fraudulent manipulations” that it said characterised the September 22 governorship election in Osun State.

Also, the PDP called for the resignation of the commission’s Director of Operations, Mrs Amina Zakari.

Zakari is in charge of the Information and Communications Technology Department, where the PDP alleged that the election results were altered to favour the All Progressives Congress.

The National Publicity Secretary of the party, Kola Ologbondiyan, made the demands in Abuja on Tuesday at a press conference, which was held at the PDP national secretariat.

ALSO READ - #OsunDecides2018: Oshiomhole, Ganduje, Allegedly Seal Deal With Omisore

He said, “It is completely inexcusable that Prof Yakubu presides over an atrocious and compromised electoral umpire that manipulates electoral processes, doctors figures, allocates fictitious votes and subverts the will of the people in an election.

“The PDP has additional documentary evidence of how this compromised INEC, through its Operations and ICT Department, doctored results from polling centres, directly shortchanged the PDP with no fewer than 4,387 votes by slashing votes cast for the PDP at the polling centres while allocating fictitious figures to the APC.

“The PDP has facts on how INEC slashed over 1,000 votes freely cast by the people for our candidate, Senator Ademola Adeleke, in Ayedaade Local Government Area, just to reduce our votes from our legitimate 10,836 votes cast at the polling centres to 9,836 votes so as to give APC the lead with a 1,000 vote margin in the local government.

“Also, the PDP has evidence of how INEC, while collating results, directly allocated over 1,367 fictitious votes to the APC in Olorunda Local Government Area, to fraudulently shore up the APC votes to duplicitous 16,254 votes.

“This is in addition to evidence of how INEC awarded over 2,000 fictitious votes in favour of the APC in Oshogbo to push APC’s vote to 23,379 against the actual 21,479 votes scored by the defeated party.”