Less than 24 hours after the Senate passed the South-East Development Commission Bill, another proposed legislation to establish the North West Development Commission has scaled First Reading.

Sponsored by Senator Jibrin Barau, the bill titled North West Development Commission (Est, etc) Bill, 2018, passed First Reading during Senate plenary on Thursday.

When established, the Commission will bring development to the seven states in the North West geopolitical zone namely: Kano, Sokoto, Jigawa, Kaduna, Katsina, Kebbi and Zamfara states.

President Muhammadu Buhari hails from Katsina State.

At the moment, Nigeria has two interventionist agencies along zonal lines. They are the Niger Delta Development Commission and North East Development Commission.

Since the establishment of the NDDC by the Fourth Assembly (1999 to 2003) for the nine oil-producing states, some Nigerians in other geopolitical zones have called for the creation of more interventionist agencies in all the geopolitical zones in the country.

However, others have condemned such legislation, arguing that the NDDC has not lived up to expectation and has become a source of siphoning funds.

With the South East Development Commission Bill passing Third Reading in the Senate and the North West Development Commission Bill scaling First Reading on Thursday, there are strong indications that two other bills for the South West and North Central zones will soon be introduced.

VIDEO: APC Thugs Broke My Head Because I Support Adeleke Ademola