#NigeriaDecides2019: More Governors Make Their Way To Senate

| Lekan Oladeinde
Some outgoing governors have won their bids for the Senate

Despite a couple of upsets, it appears that the Senate’s track record as the favorite retirement ground for ex-governors is set to continue.

Outgoing governors of Borno, Yobe, Zamfara and Nasarawa States have won their bids for the Senate on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Umaru Al-Makura, governor of Nasarawa State, emerged the winner of Nasarawa South senatorial district, defeating Suleiman Adokwe, the incumbent senator.

Al-Makura polled 113,156 to defeat Adokwe of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 104,595 votes.

Governor Ibrahim Gaidam of Yobe, won the Yobe East Senatorial seat, currently being occupied by a former governor of the state, Bukar Abba Ibrahim, defeating his PDP opponent Abbagana Tata.

Gaidam polled 139,277 votes against his rival’s 18059 votes.

Gov. Kashim Shettima won the Borno Central Senatorial District election.

Shettima scored 342, 898 votes in the election held on Saturday to defeat his closest opponent, Abba Aji of the PDP, who polled 75, 506 votes.

Governor Abdula’ziz Yari of Zamfara State was declared as winner of Zamfara West Senatorial election.

Yari of the APC polled 153,626 votes, while Lawal Hassan of the PDP scored 69,293 votes.

The four will join governors of Imo and Ogun States, Rochas Okorocha and Ibikunle Amosun, who had already secured their seats in the upper chamber.

Amosun secured a seat to represent Ogun Central in the Senate under the ruling APC.

He secured 88,110 votes at the polls defeating Solomon Sanyaolu of the PDP, who got 33,276 votes.

Amosun has served two terms as governor of the state from 2011 till date, and was previously a senator between 2003 – 2011 before becoming governor.

Also read: #NigeriaDecides2019: Follow The Process, Join The Conversation

Okorocha  was declared the winner of Saturday’s  Imo West senatorial election.

Okorocha polled  97,762 votes to  win the election ahead  of the Peoples Democratic Party’s  Jones Onyereri (68,117) and All Progressive Grand Alliance’s Osita Izunaso (30,084).

Two other former governors have also been elected into the Senate.

Orji Uzor Kalu, who served two terms as governor of Abia state from 1999 – 2007 under the PDP was declared winner of Abia North Senatorial District in Saturday’s presidential and National Assembly elections.

Former Enugu governor, Chimaraoke Nnamani won the Enugu East senatorial seat on the PDP platform in a landslide.

He polled 128,843 votes to defeat the APC candidate, Prince Lawrence Eze, who got 14,225 votes.