The Speaker House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara has won the Dass/Bogoro/Tafawa Balewa Federal Constituency election conducted on Saturday.

Dogara, who contested on the platform of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), got 73,609 votes to defeat Dalhatu Abubakar Kantana of the ruling APC who got 50,708 votes.

Announcing the results, the INEC Returning Officer for the elections, Professor Mohammed Yusuf Abdulhamid said that Dogara was declared the winner having satisfied all the requirements and having the highest votes.

Also read: #NigeriaDecides2019: Follow The Process, Join The Conversation

Dogara was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2007 on the platform of the PDP.

He defected to the APC in 2014 and won his third term on the platform of the party in 2015.

The Speaker later defected to the PDP to contest for the fourth time.