The duo of Victor Moses and Asisat Oshoala were the pick of the bunch in the maiden edition of the AITEO/NFF Awards held Monday night in Lagos at the Eko Hotel and Suites.

Moses was voted ahead of the duo of Wilfred Ndidi and Anthony Okpotu who was the top scorer in the Nigeria Professional Football League last season.

Though some may have their reservations about the choice of Moses, the Chelsea star did quite exceptionally well in the period under review; contributing significantly to the success of Chelsea winning the Premier League title and Nigeria qualifying for the Russia 2018 World Cup.

On her part, Oshoala predictably emerged at the Player-of-the-Year (Woman).

ALSO READ: PHOTOS: FIFA President Infantino Visits Ambode

This latest accolade is coming for Oshoala after winning her third African Player of the Year (Women) Award in Accra, Ghana earlier in the year.

It was not just about Moses and Oshoala on Monday night during the ward ceremony that was held inside the Grand Ballroom of the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

A lot of football figures where on the cards, those present at the award included NFF President Amaju Pinnick, First Vice President Seyi Akinwunmi, FIFA President Gianni Infantino, FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad and Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode.

Former Nigeria internationals Segun Odegbami, Austin Okocha, Friday Ekpo, Christian Chukwu, Mutiu Adepoju, Daniel Amokachi, Garba Lawal, Emmanuel Okala, Felix Owolabi, Wilson Oruma, Femi Opabunmi, Ann Chiejine, Rita Nwadike were present at the awards, with some of them presenting awards.

ALSO WATCH: Boko Haram: The Untold Borno Stories