FIFA President Gianni Infantino and CAF head Ahmad Ahmad are some of the top dignitaries expected to storm Lagos for the maiden NFF Football Awards.

The event is scheduled to hold on Monday February 19, 2018 at the Eko Hotels and Suits in Lagos.

It is the first time that the nation’s football –governing body is organizing an Awards ceremony to reward and inspire its own in the Nigerian Football space.

Gongs will be presented to winners in Player of the Year (men), Player of the Year (women), Coach of the Year (men), Coach of the Year (women), Young Player of the Year (men), Young Player of the Year (women), Team of the Season, Fairplay Award, Goal of the Season, Fans of the Season, NFF Development Award and Platinum Award categories.

Also read: Nigeria Beach Soccer Star Joins Temple Family

There will be special recognition of a ‘Legends Eleven,’ a squad of outstanding former Nigeria international players.

The Awards ceremony will also be attended by a large selection of Nigeria football legends, including former captains Christian Chukwu, Olusegun Odegbami, Daniel Amokachi, Mutiu Adepoju, Uche Okechukwu, Garba Lawal, Austin Jay Jay Okocha, Nwankwo Kanu and Joseph Yobo.

Also expected are FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura, the CAF top hierarchy and presidents of about 20 Member Associations of FIFA. 

“I can tell you that all arrangements have been tidied up and we are looking forward to a truly big day. The NFF decided it was the right time to launch a project to recognize and reward excellence in Nigerian Football.

“Fortunately, we found a worthy partner in the Government of Lagos State and also our major partner, AITEO,” NFF 1st Vice President, Seyi Akinwunmi, who is also Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the Awards, said on Thursday.

ALSO WATCH: Bounce Sports: Highlights Of January 2018 Transfer Window And Final Tributes For Deji Tinubu