Seventy hours after they were elected, the new 57 Local Government Chairmen in Lagos State have been sworn in by the State’s Chief Judge, Justice Olufunmilyo Atilade.

The swearing-in ceremony, which took place at Secretariat in Alausa, Ikeja, was attended by the Governor of the State, Akinwunmi Ambode.

The chairmen had earlier on Monday collected their certificates of return from the Chairman of the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission, Justice Ayotunde Phillips at LASIEC's headquarters in Yaba.

While addressing the new council bosses and their deputies, who were all dressed in white, Ambode asked them to be prudent in handling the finances of the local governments  to enable them execute projects that will have direct impact on the lives of the people.

“It is now time for hard work and the fulfillment of all the promises made to the people. The people have, by their votes, discharged their responsibility. It is now your turn to discharge your part of the social contract you made with the people of your communities, wards and local councils."

He advised them to resume their duties immediately and ensure they swear in the elected councilors.

Ambode also praised LASIEC for providing a level playing ground for all parties and contestants.

All the 57 Local Government Chairmen are members of the All Progressives Congress.

The APC also won 269 councillorship positions; the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 7, while the Accord Party won one seat.

The PDP won the seats in Agege Local Government Area (LGA) Ward C, Itire-Ikate Local Council Development Area (LCDA) Ward A, Ikorodu LGA Ward G, and Oriade LCDA Ward A.

Accord Party won in Agege LGA Ward E, Ikosi-Isheri LCDA Ward D and Shomolu/Kosofe Ward E.

Twelve parties participated in the poll.