Students of the Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, are in happy mood.

This is because the institution has been upgraded to a university.

The state governor, Ibikunle Amosun, signed the bill upgrading the polytechnic to the Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology.

The bill was earlier passed by the state House of Assembly. Amosun gave assent to the bill at the state’s executive council meeting where he also signed into law the re-establishment of the Ogun state Polytechnic in Ipokia area of the state.

He disclosed that the institutions would be a multi-campus, as government would engage think-tanks and academics to provide the technical support.

He expressed optimism that the institutions would compete favourably with their contemporaries across the country.

With the upgrade, Ogun now has three state-owned universities - Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye; Tai Solarin University of Education and Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology.