A tough test is in the wings for Super Eagles captain, John Obi Mikel as he seeks to retain the King Of the Pitch Gong at the Nigeria Pitch Awards

The duo of Victor Moses and Kelechi Iheanacho are the two other players listed as fellow nominees alongside Mikel and there are fears that the China-based star's reign may come to an end.

On Monday, organisers of the Nigerian Pitch Awards released names of nominees for the 2016 awards in all the categories with Enyeama and Ikeme battling Ikechukwu Ezenwa for the best goalkeeper award.

For the Defender of the Year Award, Leon Balogun is facing a fierce challenge from William Troost-Ekong and Kenneth Omeruo for the title.

In the midfield, the contest involves John Obi Mikel, Wilfred Ndidi and Etebo Oghenekaro.

Kelechi Iheanacho, Chisom Egbuchulam and Godwin Obaje are the contestants for the Striker of the Year Award; just as Obaje battles Chisom Egbuchulam and Stephen Odey for the NPFL MVP award.

The NWPL award has Osinachi Ohale, Rafiat Sule and Chioma Wogu vying for the title, Asisat Oshoala, Onome Ebi and Desire Oparanozie are contesting for the Queen of the Pitch Award, while Victor Moses, John Obi Mikel and Kelechi Iheanacho are fighting for the King of the Pitch Award.

Speaking on the awards, SIAO Partners, which collated the votes, said the voting was done by Nigerian sports editors across the 36 states of the federation between April 5 and 23 2017 on Nigerian Pitch Awards website.