The Speaker of the Kogi State House of Assembly, Ahmed Imam, has officially resigned as the Speaker of the House.

His resignation was announced by the Deputy Speaker, Hassan Abdullahi Baiwa, the member representing Okura constituency who presided over the House sitting on Thursday.

At the day’s plenary, there was heavy presence of armed security men comprising the Nigeria Police and Civil Defence who conducted a stop and search before observers could gain access to the Assembly complex to feel their eyes on the day’s business.

The member representing Kabba Bunnu constituency,  Mattew Kolawole was subsequently elected the new Speaker.

Kolawole’s election came following his nomination by the member representing Ankpa 1, Ahmed Mohammed which was seconded by the member representing Okehi constituency, Abdulkareem Kekere.

In his acceptance speech,  Kolawole promised to carry all aggrieved member along by delivering good legislation and people driven government.

The new Speaker was formerly the House Majority Leader and a staunch supporter of Governor Yahaya Bello.

Also in the new shake-up, Bello Hassan Balogun (Ajaokuta) becomes the new Majority Leader while Victor Omofaye ( Ijumu) was elected Chief Whip.