The people of Oyo South senatorial district have denied their state governor, Abiola Ajimobi the opportunity to represent them in the Senate.

He has been well beaten by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Dr. Kola Baogun in the National Assembly election held on Saturday, February 23.

Ajimobi, who contested on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), secured 92,218 votes while Balogun, a former Commissioner for Commerce and Cooperatives in the state, scored 105,720 votes.

The incumbent Senator, Mr. Soji Akanbi of ADC scored 49,437 while ADP candidate, Dr. Fola Akinosun got 13,149 votes.

#NigeriaDecides2019: Follow The Process, Join The Conversation

The election results were declared at the Agodi gate, headquarters of Ibadan North Local Government Area, which served as the collation centre for the district.

Professor Wole Akinsola, a former Dean, Faculty of Education, University of Ibadan, declared the results Monday morning.

Ajimobi, whose second term in office will lapse on May 29, 2019, had earlier represented the district between 2003 and 2007 on the platform of Alliance for Democracy (AD).

Brexit: How Nigeria Can Benefit From UK Exiting The EU