The Kano State House of Assembly has impeached its Speaker, Yusuf Abdullahi Ata.

Ata was impeached on Monday alongside two other principal officers.

Ata was immediately replaced by the immediate-past Speaker, Kabiru Alhassan Rurum, who was impeached over alleged bribery scandal.

The 40-member Assembly resumed on Monday from two-month recess, during which the legislators hatched the impeachment plan.

Also Read: Another Reason To Install Bounce News App

On May 15, 24 members had signed for the former Speaker’s impeachment, but the state governor ,  Abdullahi Ganduje intervened in the crisis.

The motion for Ata’s impeachment was raised by a member representing Warawa Constituency, Labaran Madari, and seconded by the lone member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Abdullahi Muhammed.

shopping voucher

Ata was accused of not carrying other principal officers in running the affairs of the house.

The Majority Leader of the House was also impeached and replaced with Bappa Babba, while Kabiru Hassan is the new Deputy Majority Leader and Abdulrahaman Madari is now the Chief Whip.

Shayi Shayi Gang: Why Nigeria's Drug Abuse Problem May Not End Soon (TRAILER)