Kayode Fayemi, Minister of Solid Minerals, has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Ekiti State.

The former governor of the state secured the most votes in the rescheduled exercise held on Saturday at Damlek Event Centre, Ado-Ekiti..

Although, counting is still ongoing, Fayemi has secured 941 votes out of the 2337 delegates accredited to vote in the exercise.

The total votes of the first 18 aspirants whose votes have been counted were 413.

The remaining  983 votes if  shared among the  14 remaining aspirants has made Fayemi unassailable in the race.

The aspirants whose votes have been counted are Kayode Ojo (281), Olufemi Richard Bamisile (179), Oluyede Oluwole (121), and Aluko Daniel Olugbenga (86).

Adekunle Patrick was the only aspirant without a vote while Ajayi Adebowale Oluranti and Elizabeth Taiye had one each. Coker Olumuyiwa and Ayodele Arise secured two votes apiece.

ALSO READ: Ekiti ADP Governorship Candidate Emerges!

Despite withdrawing from the race, Babafemi Ojudu still managed to get 10 votes.

There were no delegates left inside the hall where the primary was held as they had been compelled by security agents  to leave immediately after casting their ballots.

There is no protest from any of the 33 governorship aspirants in the auditorium yet unlike what happened during the botched first primary election last Saturday.

With his victory,  Fayemi, who was governor in the state between October 16 2010 and 2014 will now face the incumbent Deputy Governor Kolapo Olusola, who is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party and heavily supported by Governor Ayodele Fayose in the election on July 14.

WATCH: Nigerians speak about Buhari's second term plan