Governor Rauf Aregbesola''s  Chief of Staff, Adegboyega Oyetola has won the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress in Osun State.

He polled 127,017 votes to defeat other aspirants including the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yusuf Lasun in the exercise conducted through direct primary.

Oyetola won the primary despite stiff opposition from some of the aspirants, who campaigned vigorously against him.

With his victory, Oyetola will fly the party's ticket in the September 22 governorship election in the state.

Also read: 3 Quick Steps To Get New BOUNCE FOOTBALL Feature

Other results as declared by the Primary Election Committee are, Lasun 21,975 votes and Najeem Salam, Speaker of the Osun State House of Assembly, 17, 958 votes.

Other candidates are Adeoti Olaleka with 128 votes; Adegoke Okiki with 252 votes; Ajayi Adeyinka with 196 votes; Akintayo Gafar with 1773 votes; Alabi Olugboyega with 284 votes; Alamu Oyebisi with 1348 votes; Oyebanji Julius with 5373 votes.

SHAYI SHAYI GANG: Why Nigeria's Drug Abuse Problem May Not End Soon (TRAILER)