The All Progressives Congress (APC) has lost 32 of its members in the House of Representatives to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Four other APC members defected to the African Democratic Congress (ADC), while a Rep left the party without stating his new direction.

In all, the ruling party lost 37 members.

In the defection letter read by Yakubu Dogara, Speaker of the House, the lawmakers cited factionalisation and division in the ruling party as reason for leaving.


The development has caused jubilation in the House.

Prominent among the defectors are Sani Rano, Barry Mpigi, Ali Madaki, Dickson Tackighir, Hassan Saleh, Danburam Nuhu, Mark Gbilah, Razak Atunwa, Ahmed Bichi, Abdulsamad Dasuki and Zakari Mohammed.

Neither Dogara, nor his deputy, Yusuff Lasun, was named among the defectors.

Earlier in the day, 15 senators announced their defection from the APC, majority moving to the PDP.

You like this article? Don’t forget to share it!

SHAYI SHAYI GANG: Why Nigeria's Drug Abuse Problem May Not End Soon (TRAILER)