The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature.

This year the prize of $100,000 goes to poetry, while drama is expected to get the cash prize next year.

Tade Ipadeola won the last poetry prize in 2013 with his collection of poems, The Sahara Testaments

A shortlist of three is expected in September and a possible winner will be announced by the Advisory Board in October.

An interesting mix of poets make up this year’s longlist of the NLNG sponsored Nigeria literature prize, and they include Ogaga Ifowodu, Ikeogu Oke, Jumoke Verissimo and Hyginus Ekwuazi.

The shortlisted authors listed in alphabetical order are as follows:

Akinlabi, Peter-Iconography

Ekwuazi, Hyginus-One Day I’ll Dare to Raise My Middle Finger at the Stork and the Reaper

Gomba, Obari -For Every Homeland

Ifowodo, Ogaga -A Good Mourning

Lari-Williams, Seun - Garri for Breakfast

Ogu, Humphrey - Echoes of Neglect

Ojaide, Tanure - Songs of Myself: Quartet

Oke, Ikeogu -The Heresiad

Othman, Abubakar -Blood Streams in the Desert

Verissimo, Jumoke -The Birth of Illusion

Yeibo, Ebi -Of Waters and the Wild