The Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN on Monday released a comprehensive list of banks operating in Nigeria with active licences.

In a circular titled: “List Of Deposit Money Banks And Financial Holding Companies Operating In Nigeria As At September 30, 2018”, the apex bank details the financial institutions operating in Nigeria with their addresses, including the type of licences they have.

According to the list, there are 9 deposit money banks who have commercial banking licence with international authorization.

They include:

1. Access Bank Plc

2. Diamond Bank Plc

3. Fidelity Bank Plc

4. First City Monument Bank Plc

5. First Bank Nigeria Limited

6. Guaranty Trust Bank Plc

7. Union Bank Of Nigeria Plc

8. United Bank Of Africa Plc

9. Zenith Bank Plc

Others include 10 money deposit banks who have commercial banking licence with national authorization. It means their licence allows them to operate within Nigeria only.

Also Read: Why Lekki Is The New Home Of Chocolate In Nigeria

These include:

1. Citibank Nigeria Limited

2. Ecobank Nigeria Plc

3. Heritage Bank Limited

4. Keystone Bank Limited

5. Polaris Bank Plc

6. Stanbic IBTC Bank Plc

7. Standard Chartered Bank Limited

8. Sterling Bank Plc

9. Unity Bank Plc

10. Wema Bank Plc

The CBN’s list also showed that the there are only two banks in Nigeria - Suntrust Bank Nigeria Limited and Providus Bank Plc – who have regional licences, while Jaiz Bank is the only bank with non-interest banking licence with national authorization in the country.

You can check out the full list here. 

Also Watch: