The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced that it will commence a continuous voter registration on April 27 across the 774 local councils of the federation.

Amina Zakari, INEC National Commissioner made this known in a statement released after a meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECS) and Administrative Secretaries from the 36 states and the FCT.

According to the electoral body, the exercise would take place from 9 am to 3 pm on weekdays, excluding public holidays.

Local government offices of the commission will be used for the registration. Other locations will be announced by state offices of lNEC.

“The exercise is intended to enable citizens who have turned 18 years of age since the last registration as well as those who did not register during the last exercise to register as voters,” the statement read.

“It will allow those seeking transfer of their registration from one State to another or within a State from polling unit to another to do so.

“The exercise also intends to enable the distribution of uncollected Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) to those who could not collect them before or since the last general elections.

“It will also enable citizens who have the Temporary Voter Cards (TVCs) but whose names are on the register to collect their PVCs.

“The commission wishes to reiterate its commitment to consolidating our democracy.

“This we are going to do by ensuring that citizens are given the opportunity to register as voters on a continuous basis as enshrined in the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) well before elections"