A total of 37 political parties will presenting candidates in the Anambra governorship election scheduled for November 18.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Wednesday released a list of the participating parties in Abuja.

Five women are part of the candidates vying for the governorship seat.

A statement by the spokesman for the Commission, Mr Oluwole Osaze-Uzzi, said the list also had eight other women vying for the office of the Deputy Governor.

The candidates included Mr Willie Obiano, the incumbent governor, with his deputy Nkemakonam Okeke, vying under the flag of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA).

Mr Oseloka Obaze is contesting under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), with Chidi Onyemelukwe, a woman, as his running mate.

On the list is Mr Tony Nwoye of the All Progressives Congress, with Dozie Arinze, a woman, as his running mate.

Others on the list are Nwezi Amechi and his running mate Okeke Njideka, a woman, for All Grand Alliance Party (AGAP).

Oby Okafor and her running mate Onyekwuluje Uzoma are vying for the position under the  Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD).

Former Minister of Aviation, Osita Chidoka, is also carrying the flag of United Progressive Party (UPP), with Okeke Ogbonnaya as his running mate.

Other parties with their candidates in the list are.

Alliance Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN)
African Democratic Congress (ADC)
Action Alliance (AA)
Action Democratic Party (ADP)
African People’s Party (APP)
Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)
Democratic Alternative (DA)
Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC)
Green Party of Nigeria (GPN)
Hope Democratic Party (HDP)
Kowa Party
The Labour Party (LP
Masses Movement Of Nigeria (MMM)
Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP)
National Democratic Liberty Party (NDLP)
United Democratic Party (UDP)
National Conscience Party (NCP)
New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP)
Nigeria Peoples Congress (NPC)
National Unity Party (NUP)
People for Democratic Change (PDC)
Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA)
Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN)
Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
Social Democratic Party (SDP)
United Progressive Party (UPP)
Young Democratic Party (YDP)
Young Progressive Party (YPP).

The Commission has approved the applications of 44 observer groups, comprising 38 domestic and 6 international groups.

The international observer groups are the British High Commission, International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), American Embassy Abuja, European Union, High Commission of Canada, and African Union Economic Social and Cultural Council.

The domestic groups include African Centre for Leadership, Strategy and Development, Centre for Credible Leadership, Citizens Awareness, and the Initiative for Promotion of Civic Obligation Sustainable.

Meanwhile, Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) will meet on September 28 and 29 for the Inter-Agency Consultative Committee on Electoral Securities (ICCES) meeting.