The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Governor Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna state, as winner of Saturday’s election.

Mohammed Bello, Vice-Chancellor of Bayero University, Kano (BUK) who is the returning officer, announced that the governor secured the highest votes.

El-Rufai, who ran under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled 1,045,477 votes to defeat Isha Ashiru of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who garnered 814,168 votes.

He won in 15 of the 23 local government areas, while Ashiru won 8 in eight LGAs.

#NigeriaDecides2019: Follow The Process, Join The Conversation

Meanwhile, the PDP has rejected the results of the election, accusing INEC of conspiring with the ruling APC.

Speaking at the collation center, Jerry Ishaya, the party’s agent, said the result was not the true reflection of the votes cast on Saturday.

Ishaya said PDP agents in Zaria, Kabau, Kaduna north, Kaduna south, Igabi, Soba and Lere local government areas of the state have told the party leadership that card readers were not used at all.

“We have formally written the INEC that card readers were not used in those local government areas mentioned. Our agents told us how security agents overpowered them in some areas,” he said.

“The results were manipulated in collaboration with the INEC, security agents.”