Kelechi Iheanacho won the 2016 King of the Pitch award during a ceremony held in Uyo after Nigeria’s 2-0 loss to South Africa in a 2019 AFCON qualifier.

The Nigeria Pitch Awards is an annual event organised to reward Nigerian players for their exploit in both national and club levels.

Iheanacho beat other contenders including John Obi Mikel and Victor Moses to win the award for the first time.

Asisat Oshoala emerged Queen of the Pitch, while Carl Ikeme was voted the goalkeeper of the year.

See full list of winners below

Goalkeeper - Carl Ikeme

Defender - Williams Troost-Ekong

Referee - Ferdinand Udoh

Club - Enugu Rangers

Midfielder - Wilfried Ndidi

Striker - Kelechi Iheanacho

Coach - Imama Amakapabor

Grassroot Football State of the Year -Lagos state

Sam Okwaraji Award - Dr Ifeanyin Ubah

Corporate sponsors – Nigerian Breweries PLC

Governor - Udoh Emmanuel

Queen of the pitch - Asisat Oshoala

King of the pitch - Iheanacho

Journalist category

Print -Tana Aiyejina - Punch

Radio - Wale Adigun

TV - Austin Okon-Akpan