Mo Farah set the home crowd alight with victory in a fantastic 10,000m final to win the first gold medal of this year's IAAF World Championships.

Farah twice stumbled during the final laps but kept his composure to take his number of Olympic and world titles to ten.

Earlier on, Usain Bolt won his heat in 10.07 seconds but will face competition in later rounds from fellow Jamaican Julian Forte who was the only one to dip below ten seconds with 9.99.

The women’s 1500m heats were dominated by Genzebe Dibaba and Caster Semenya, the pair were the only athletes to register a sub 4:03 minute.

The semi-finals will see four Brits in action with Laura Muir, Laura Weightman, Jess Judd and Sarah Macdonald all qualifying.

In men’s discus qualifying Daniel Stahl repeated his good form qualifying for Saturday's final in first place.

The Olympic champion from London 2012 and three-time world champion, Robert Harting finished second.

There were surprises in the field events as Jenn Suhr and Jeff Henderson failed to qualify in the women’s pole vault and men’s long jump respectively.

Katerina Stefanidi needed just one vault of the automatic qualifying height of 4.60m to secure her place in the pole vault final.

Radek Juska qualified first in the long jump.