For the first time since assuming power as the ruling party, members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) will on Saturday elect its national officers at its maiden convention in Abuja.

The convention, which many have expressed fears that it would be crisis ridden, may be hitch-free, following last minute consultations and horse trading.

This development has paved way for a likely consensus arrangement in the choice of the officers.

One of the positions, which is going unopposed is that of the National Chairman as three other aspirants for the post stepped down for former governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole.

Clement Ebri and Prof. Oserhiemen Osunbor had stepped down for Oshiomole.

Aside Oshiomole,  aspirants for 25 NWC positions do not have challengers and will, therefore, be returned unopposed as well.

They are: Ex-Governor Niyi Adebayo (Deputy National Chairman, South); Babatunde Ogala (National Legal Adviser) and George Moghalu (National Auditor).

North Central: Nelson Alapa (Ex-Officio); Hassana Abdullahi (National Women Leader); Zakari Mohammed (Zonal Secretary); Ibrahim Abdul (Zonal Organising Secretary); Makop Masoic Danladi (Zonal Special Leader).

North East: Mohammed Abba Isa (Zonal Special Leader); Abubakar Sadiq Ajiya (Zonal Secretary); Mamman Isa Azare (Ex-Officio).

North West: Nasiru Dano (Ex-Officio); Misbahu Lainan Didi (National Special Leader); Abdulmunaf Mohammed (Zonal Organising Secretary); Tukur Abdulkadir Gusau (Zonal Secretary).

South-South: Rachael Akpabio (Zonal Women Leader); Koteten Ibadan (Ex-Officio); Johnson Maafo (Zonal Special Leader).

South -West: Olu Kemi Titilola Nelson (Zonal Women Leader); Olusegun Tomorin (Zonal Youth Leader); Tajudeen Lamboye (Zonal Organising Secretary);  Tajudeen Bello (National Financial Secretary); Omolaoye Oluremi Akintola (Ex-Officio); Adelabu Paul Ayolade (Zonal Special Leader).

South-East: Uzoma Bright Ikechukwu (Zonal Special Leader).

ALSO READ: 3 Quick Steps To Get New 'Bounce Football' Feature

Three aspirants will today face each other for the post of national secretary. They are the incumbent, Mai Mala Buni, formerly of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) who is believed to be favoured by the president; Waziri Bulama, formerly of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), and Abdulrahaman Terab.

As for the Deputy National Chairman (North), the race is between the incumbent, Shuaibu and his challenger in 2014, Farouk Adamu Aliyu.

Of the about 160 aspirants, 17 are from the South East alone and they are contesting for the three NWC positions of national vice chairman, national organising secretary and national auditor.

The aspirants for the organising secretary include: the incumbent, Senator Osita Izunaso (supported by South East caucus), Emma Ibediro (backed by Governor Rochas Okorocha), Chidi Nwogu (from the Okadigbo Rainbow Coalition) and Longinus Anyanwu (from the anti-Okorocha group).

For the position of national publicity secretary, the incumbent, Bolaji Abdulahi, will slug it out with two challengers, Lanre Issa Onilu and Abu Sidik Meseko.

Contestants for the national women leader position are the incumbent, Ramatu Aliyu, and Salmatu Bawa, who is said to have the backing of the Kogi State governor, Yahaya Bello.

As part of steps to douse tension ahead of the convention, the National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, on friday met with the APC Caucus in the House of Representatives over the alleged side-lining of Speaker Yakubu Dogara in the scheme of things.