The new President-elect of Liberia, George Weah as well as Nigerian legends, Kanu Nwankwo and Victor Ikpeba are among the top personalities expected in Accra on Thursday for the AITEO CAF Awards.

As stated by the organisers, all the living 15 previous winners, including Nigeria’s Kanu (the first man to win the African Player of the Year award twice), Emmanuel Amuneke and Victor Ikpeba are all billed to turn up at the Accra International Conference Centre.

READ ALSO: NNL: Super 4 Tournament To Hold In Lagos

They will be joined by Liberia’s President-elect George Oppong Weah (who is the only African to have won the World Player of the Year title, and did a treble by also winning the European Player of the Year award in the same 1995).

Others on the roll call of expected legends are former Black Stars’ captain Abedi ‘Pele’ Ayew (winner of the maiden award in 1992), four –time winners Yaya Toure and Samuel Eto’o Fils, two–time winners Didier Drogba and El-Hadji Diouf, and Frederic Kanoute.

Also, Patrick Mboma, Mustapha Hadji, Emmanuel Adebayor, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Riyad Mahrez, who won in 2016 but is not in contention for the 2017 gong are all being expected.

 Only Cote d’Ivoire, with Drogba’s double and Toure’s quadruple, have taken more titles than Nigeria.

 It is also the first time in the history of the event that all previous winners have been invited.

ALSO WATCH: Bounce Sports: Major Sporting Events That Shook The World in 2017