Following the conclusion of the NFF Elective Congress in Katsina on Thursday,  the country's football governing body now has 'new' Executive Committee Members.

During the polls, which was conducted by the NFF Electoral Committee put in place by the NFF Congress at last year’s General Assembly in Jos, Plateau State on 19th October 2017, Amaju Pinnick swept aside three other contestants, polling 34 votes to second –placed Aminu Maigari’s 8, with former international Taiwo Ogunjobi getting only 2 votes. There was none for club owner Chinedu Okoye.

In the event, Pinnick became the first man since Father Dennis Slattery (of blessed memory) in 1957 to be elected back-to-back to one of the hottest seats in world football. 

 Incumbent Seyi Akinwunmi was even more emphatic in retaining his seat, bagging 41 of the votes to challenger Sunday Dele-Ajayi’s 2. One vote was deemed invalid.

In other votes, incumbent Ibrahim Musa Gusau retained his seat as Chairman of Chairmen on the Board, polling 42 of 44 votes, following the withdrawal of Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah on the floor of the election.

Ahmed Yusuf Fresh and Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande retained their seats on the board, after a nerve –jangling contest that went to three rounds. Chairman of Kwara State Football Association, Busari Ishola was eliminated in the first round after polling only 10 votes, leaving Yusuf and Fresh to vie in the second. Fresh edged it 22-21, and Ishola was then re-instated to challenge Yahaya-Kwande for the remaining slot from North Central. In the event, Yahaya-Kwande won by 28 votes to 14.

Emmanuel Ibah defeated Oswald Atuake 28 votes to 15 to win the remaining slot from the South South (following Pinnick’s re-election), while Ganiyu Majekodunmi and Sharif Rabiu Inuwa were unopposed for the South West and North West slots.

Three candidates slugged it out in the South East, with Enyimba FC chairman Felix Anyansi-Agwu winning the lone slot available (as Chidi Ofo Okenwa still has a seat as Chairman of the Nigeria National League). Anyansi-Agwu polled 32 votes, to nearest challenger Emmanuel Ochiagha’s 8. Jude Obikwelu and Pastor Emeka Inyama, who withdrew from the contest on the floor of the election, still got two votes and one vote respectfully.

FIFA observers Luca Piazza and Solomon Mudege, and CAF observer Sita Sangare witnessed both the opening ceremony and the entire Elective Congress proper.

Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Barrister Muhammed Sani Katu afterwards swore in the new Board.

FULL LIST: NFF Executive Committee Members

 Amaju Pinnick – President

 Seyi Akinwnumi – 1st Vice President

 Shehu Dikko – 2nd Vice President

 Ibrahim Musa Gusau – Member

 Ahmed Yusuf Fresh – Member

 Felix Anyansi-Agwu – Member

 Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande – Member

 Babagana Kalli – Member

 Sharif Rabiu Inuwa – Member

 Chidi Ofo Okenwa – Member

 Aisha Falode – Member

 Mohammed Alkali – Member

 Musa Duhu – Member

 Ganiyu Majekodunmi – Member

 Emmanuel Ibah – Member

 Mohammed Sanusi – Secretary


Don’t forget to share this story with your friends and family...