The President of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, Mr Shina Phillips, was among top Nigerian entertainers and celebrities from the Media, Nollywood, Fashion, Music and the corporate world inducted as Celebrity Special Marshals at the recently held 1st FRSC Celebrity Special Marshals Annual Lecture in Lagos.

The lecture and induction ceremony were presided over by the Corps Marshal of the FRSC Dr Boboye Oyeyemi who also delivered the lecture with the theme: ‘Ember Months, Road Traffic Crash Debunked’.

The Celebrity Special Marshal Unit was introduced in 2011 with the aim of using notable personalities in the media, movie, music, comedy and other showbiz industry as ambassadors for road safety.

SHINA Philips

Their mandates include advocacy, national patrol, enlightenment programmes at motor parks and other activities aimed at reducing road crashes.

Among the new set of inductees are veteran actor Olu Jacob MFR, Ngozi Ezeonu, President of the Guild of Corporate Online Publishers, Dotun Oladipo; General Manager of AIT in Lagos, Jiire Kuforiji; and General Manager Raypower in Lagos, Yewande Iwuoha.

Shina Phillips

Reacting to the gesture by the FRSC, Shina Philips expressed delight at the honour, stating that he was merely preoccupied with giving the country a world class football awards ceremony.

‘Our goal is to engineer a reward system which will inspire players and officials to work harder and make our football better’, he said.

‘We’re planning to replicate this success on the African continent with the Africa LAMPS-Legends of Arts, Management, Politics, Security, Sports and Science Awards which will identify and reward Africa’s intellectuals and heroes in all spheres of human endeavour. ‘Lamps’ stands for light and knowledge.

Philips and his team pioneered a transparent voting system to reward administrators, journalists and players of football in Nigeria.

The awards have been described as prestigious, credible and unbiased.

The awards have been commended by the regulatory football body in country, the Nigeria Football Federation and the CIES Football Observatory.