Ekiti State Governor Ayo Fayose has suffered another electoral defeat.

The governor lost his home local government area during the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Delegate Election to choose representatives to the National Convention in Abuja .

The elections were conducted in the 16 local government areas of the state. The battle was fiercer in Irepodun/Ifelodun Local Government, where Fayose hails.

The governor’s candidate and former Minister of Aviation, Babatunde Omotoba, was defeated  by former state PDP Secretary, Tope Aluko.

Party members, including a serving member of the House of Assembly representing constituency 1 of the council, Posi Omodara, ward councilors and elected party officials rejected the choice of Omotoba, as a national delegate.

Aluko polled 80 votes to defeat Omotoba who polled 4 votes.

According to the Returning Officer who is also the PDP Vice Chairman in Ekiti Central, Tunji Kayode, 84 delegates were accredited to vote.

Announcing the result, Kayode returned Dr. Aluko as elected having polled the hugest number of votes cast.

READ ALSO: 2019: I Will Clinch PDP Presidential Ticket- Saraki

The election was observed by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), officers of the Nigeria Police, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, Department of State Services and journalists.

Loyalists of Fayose did not show up at the poll and conduct was delayed for about two hours before voting started.

Before voting started at about 11.45 am, members described the congress as an opportunity to liberate the party from Fayose’s alleged stranglehold.

A former PDP chairman in the council, Hon. Jinadu Isiaka, said the election of Aluko was targeted at saving the party from ruin occasioned by alleged imposition in the party.

“What our people wanted is liberation and we are fighting for it in the interest of our party. We have seen that somebody was trying to impose a certain individual and we have revolted against that through our votes.

It will be recalled that Fayose lost the local government area to the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the last governorship election.

If you enjoyed reading this and our other stories, please, share with friends and loved ones.