On Saturday, October 20th, the senator representing Kaduna Central senatorial district, Shehu Sani resigned his membership from the ruling APC.

The letter which was addressed to the Chairman of the party in Ward 6, Tudun Wada North, Kaduna, was also copied to the state chairman of the party, National Vice Chairman North West, National Vice Chairman APC North as well as the party's National Chairman.

Although the senator did not give any reason for his resignation, it was obvious it may not be unconnected with the 11th hour substitution of his name with that of Uba Sani - an aide to Governor El-Rufai – in their list of candidates sent to INEC.

The Presidency and the Adams Oshiomhole-led APC National Working Committee (NWC) had earlier insisted that outspoken Senator Shehu Sani was the party's 'consensus' candidate to retain the seat.

This did not go down well with Kaduna State Governor, Nasir el-rufai, who has never hidden his preference for his Uba Sani as the party's candidate for Kaduna Central senatorial seat.

READ: 3 Quick Steps To Get New Bounce Football Feature

Bounce News has now confirmed that the inability of the national leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) to submit his name to INEC is responsible for Sani’s resignation from the governing party.

A highly-placed Presidency source familiar with the matter, informed Bounce News that the Kaduna State Governor may have played a very strong role in twisting the arms of the APC leadership.

VIDEO - Nigerian Men Share Their Opinion On Oral Sex 

He reportedly told President Muhammadu Buhari that should the ruling party pick Sani, there would be protest vote in the state by APC members (in the forthcoming presidential elections).

"He (El-Rufai) simply asked the President to choose between Shehu Sani and himself and that the President's choice would determine if he would deliver the state for him or not in the 2019 Presidential election.

"And since the President is seeking re-election and desperate to win at all cost, he fell for the governor's blackmail. This tells you how powerful governors are in Nigeria.

"Not done, Governor El-Rufai also threatened to demolish Oshiomhole's house in Kaduna. And the APC National Chairman had no option but to succumb," the source who did not want his name mentioned in print, said.

READ: 'We Will Unseat El-Rufai' - Kaduna Youths

Findings showed that Senator Sani is not the only aggrieved APC senator whose name was not submitted by the APC National Working Committee (NWC).

Serving senators who lost out at National Assembly primaries in their respective senatorial districts include: Senate Spokesperson, Senator Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi; Chairman Senate Committee on Health Senator Lanre Tejuoso; Chairman Senate Committee on Petroleum Downstream Senator Kabiru Marafa; his counterpart in Police Affairs, Senator Abu Ibrahim.

Others are senators Magnus Abe, Sani Yerima, Tijjani Kaura, Bukar Abba Ibrahim, Soji Akanbi, Babajide Omoworare, Sola Adeyeye, Abdullahi Gumel, Hope Uzodinma among others.

As senators resume on Tuesday, political pundits have predicted a mass defection of aggrieved APC lawmakers to other political parties.

Please share the story