Former Ekiti State Governor, Segun Oni and some governorship aspirants who contested the Ekiti All Progressives Congress (APC) Primary against Dr. Kayode Fayemi have congratulated him for winning the race.

Fayemi, on Saturday, won the party's governorship primary election held at Damlek Event Centre, Ado-Ekiti..

Speaking after the process, Oni said, “I am a party person. I will not only support him (Dr Fayemi), I will encourage him. I don’t have any intention of leaving the APC.”

Some of the aspirants who have congratulated the winner are Bamidele Faparusi; Opeyemi Bamidele and Ayo Arise.

Fayemi polled a total of 941 votes to beat 32 other aspirants while Segun Oni scored 481 votes and Kayode Ojo came third with 281 votes out of the 2337 delegates accredited to vote.

With his victory,  Fayemi, who was governor in the state between October 16 2010 and 2014 will now face the incumbent Deputy Governor Kolapo Olusola, who is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party and heavily supported by Governor Ayodele Fayose in the election on July 14.

WATCH: Nigerians speak about Buhari's second term plan