Confusion has continued to trail the aborted All Progressives Congress (APC) Ekiti State governorship primary as the national leadership and the aspirants have failed to agree on a suitable date for the conduct of the rescheduled poll.

While the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) fixed the poll for Friday, May 11, 2018, the aspirants have appealed that the exercise be held on Sunday.

One of the aspirants, Ajayi Olowo, who volunteered information to newsmen at the end of a three-hour closed door meeting between the aspirants and members of the party’s national leadership at the secretariat in Abuja on Wednesday, said the aspirants had appealed to the NWC to shift the date to Sunday in view of the fact that they needed time to get back to the their constituency.

Olowo also said that the leadership of the party has assured them that a few members of the panel would be changed in accordance with their request, pointing out that with such an assurance, they have no reason not to have confidence in the committee expected to conduct the primary.

ALSO READ: Ekiti Governorship: APC Primaries Suspended

However, reacting, the National Publicity Secretary, Bolaji Abdullahi maintained that as far as the NWC is concerned, the date for the primary remains Friday.

“We have not considered the appeals from the aspirants yet,” the party’s spokesman declared. On whether the aspirants would possibly adopt a consensus candidate for the primary Olowo said “there is no consensus. We are all going for primary”.

Majority of the 33 aspirants contesting the primary were present at the meeting with the National Working Committee, but Minister of Mines and Steel Development, Kayode Fayemi was visibly absent.

Some of those who attended the meeting which was presided over by the National Chairman, John Odigie Oyegun included National Vice Chairman, South West, Pius Akinyelure, and National Vice Chairman, South East, Emma Enukwu and other members of the NWC.

Some of the aspirants present included Babafemi Ojudu, Segun Oni, Opeyemi Bamidele, Senator Gbenga Aluko, Femi Bamisile, Dr. Wole Oluyede, Bamidele Faparusi, Bimbo Daramola, Senator Ayo Arise, Dr. Wole Oluleye and Dr. Adebayo Orire.

Others are  Kola Alabi, Kayode Ojo, Muyiwa Olumilua, Victor Kolade, Debo Ajayi, Dele Okeya, Diran Adesua,  Sesan Fatoba, Dr.  Mojisola Yaya-Kolade, Olumuyiwa Coker and Deacon Adekunle Esan.

WATCH: Nigerians speak about Buhari's second term plan