There was mild drama on the floor of the Senate on Wednesday, December 11th when senators confirmed Festus Keyamo as a member of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC).

Keyamo, who is the spokesman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential campaign council, is among the seven people nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari as chairman and members of the corporation’s board.

During the confirmation session, senators of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) voted against Keyamo’s confirmation.

When Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu, who presided over the session, put the question for Keyamo’s confirmation, only a few senators responded by saying ‘aye,’ whereas there was a resounding ‘nay’ for the confirmation.

ALSO READ: JUST IN: Senate In Rowdy Session Over EFCC Board Nominees

This development forced Ekweremadu to subject Keyamo’s confirmation to a second question, and even at that, majority of the senators voted ‘nay’ via voice vote.

But in his ruling, Ekweremadu said the ‘ayes’ have it.

Others confirmed were Ronke Sokefun as NDIC chairman, while Garba Bello, Brig Gen Josef Okoloagu, Mustapha Adewale Mudashiru and Adewale Adeleke were confirmed as members of the board.

The confirmation of Garba Buba from Bauchi State was put on hold as he did not attend the screening session conducted by the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions, chaired by Senator Rafiu Ibrahim (PDP, Kwara).

My Transition Hours: Nigerians React To Goodluck Jonathan's Book Launch