The Nigeria Basketball Federation, NBBF have invited 20 players for the first phase of camping ahead of the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The Secretary General of the NBBF, Chimezie Asiegbu disclosed that the camping exercise will be supervised by the duo of D’Tigers assistant coaches, Abdulrahman Mohammed and Aderemi Adewunmi of Kwara Falcons.

The camp will open in Lagos on the 5th of January, 2017.

READ ALSO: Nigeria Wins International Beach Volleyball Tournament

The 20-man list is dominated by 7 players from Kano Pillars while Gombe Bulls who recently made their continental debut have 4 players in the provisional list.

Mark Mentors of Abuja have 2 players while ASPAC basketball club of Benin, Rivers Hoopers, Bauchi Nets, Kwara Falcons, Niger Potters and Civil Defenders of Abuja all have 1 player each on the list.

D’Tigers will be participating in the XXI Commonwealth Games, 2018 Gold Coast, in Queensland, Australia between 4 and 15 April, 2018.

See full list of invited players and coaches

1.            YAKUBU ABDULWAHAB                 - GOMBE BULLS                                                                   

2.            USMAN MUSA MOHAMMED        -  MARK MENTORS         

3.            USMAN ABUBAKAR                         - KANO PILLARS

4.            SALIU PRECIOUS OSIGBODI            - ASPAC

5.            OKPE OCHEIBI VICTOR                    – MARK MENTORS

6.            OKEKE JAMIL                                     – GOMBE BULLS

7.            OGENYI MATHEW                            – KANO PILLARS

8.            KOKO VICTOR ANTHONY                – RIVER HOOPERS


10.          DUNG ELI ABRAHAM                       -  KANO PILLARS

11.          DIKE AZUOMA                                  – KANO PILLARS

12.          AKITA AKPATA                                  – BAUCHI NETS

13.          ADEMOLA DELE DANIEL                 – KANO PILLARS

14.          ABDUL YAHAYA                                – KANO PILLARS

15.          DENNIS IBIKORO                              -  UNATTACHED

16.          GODWIN DAVID                               - KWARA FALCON

17.          IBE ABUCHI AGU                              - GOMBE BULLS

18.          GIDEON GEORGE                             - NIGER POTTERS

19.          SUBEL LUCKY                                    - KANO PILLARS

20.          JOEL EJIGBA                                      - DEFENDERS


1.            ABDULRAHMANMOHAMMED   - COACH                                                          

2.            ADEWUMI ADEREMI                    - COACH

ALSO WATCH: 2017 FIBA Afrobasket: Nigeria's D'Tigers Captain Speaks On Team's Readiness