Russia and America seem to be engaged in an endless spat.

Last year, the US expelled Russian diplomats from America and Russia retaliated a few months ago by sending some American diplomats packing.

Now, the U.S. government has given Russia 48 hours to close three of its missions located in San Francisco, Washington, D.C. and New York in a retaliatory move.

The U.S. Department of State, in a statement by Heather Nauert, Spokesperson for the Department on Thursday, said the move was to achieve parity in diplomatic missions.

Moscow had asked Washington to reduce its Missions’ officials in Russia.

Also read: PHOTOS: Russian President, Vladimir Putin Goes Fishing

“The United States has fully implemented the decision by the Government of the Russian Federation to reduce the size of our mission in Russia.

“We believe this action was unwarranted and detrimental to the overall relationship between our countries.

“In the spirit of parity invoked by the Russians, we are requiring the Russian Government to close its Consulate General in San Francisco, a chancery annex in Washington, D.C., and a consular annex in New York City,” America said in a statement.

These closures will need to be accomplished by September 2. With this action both countries will remain with three consulates each.

“While there will continue to be a disparity in the number of diplomatic and consular annexes, we have chosen to allow the Russian Government to maintain some of its annexes in an effort to arrest the downward spiral in our relationship,” the statement added.

Also watch: