The All Progressives Congress (APC) has defeated its main rival, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in two byeelections conducted for Toro Federal Constituency area of Bauchi State and Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero Federal Constituency Area of Kwara State.

In the Bauchi by-election, the APC candidate, Yusuf Nuhu polled 22,317  against the PDP’s Shehu Buba Umar’s 18,235 votes to win the election.

Nuhu won in eight of the 11 wards in Toro federal constituency while the PDP candidate won in three wards.

The APC candidate won in Wonu, Mara/Palama ,Ribina, Toro, Tama, Zalau/Fishi, Lame and Rahama wards.

PDP however won in Tilden Fulani, Jama’a/Zaranda and Daura/Geji wards.

Declaring the winner, the INEC Returning Officer, Professor Ahmad Tijjani Fagam said that the APC candidate emerged the winner having scored the highest number of votes.

“Yusuf Nuhu of the APC having satisfied all the requirements and scoring the highest number of votes is returned as the winner of the election,” he said.

The election was however marred by widespread voter apathy despite their presence at the polling booths.

Results in some polling units were also cancelled due to over voting after failure of card readers because the voters voted without proper accreditation.

ALSO READ: Saraki To Buhari: "You Are An Ingrate"

From Kwara, INEC late Saturday night, confirmed Raheem Olawuyi, candidate of the APC as winner of the Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero constituency.

INEC’s Chief Returning Officer for the poll, Prof. Abimbola Adesoji, said Olawuyi polled 21,236 votes, while his main PDP rival, Jimoh Alatise scored 18,095 votes.

The Labour Party had 150 votes, the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) cored 76 votes and UPN had 42 votes.

Professor Adesoji said out of the 40,930 total votes cast, the total number of valid votes was 39,599 while 1,331 votes were rejected.

Also watch: Fresh Demolition - Oyo State Govt Begins Rebuilding