The Director for Press in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Bolaji Adebiyi, confirmed this in a statement.

Adebiyi said Aliyu Dikko has been appointed as the new head of the commission, but his appointment is subject to Senate confirmation.

He added that President Muhammadu Buhari also approved appointments of heads of some other agencies.

“Adebiyi said Alex Okoh is the new Director-General of Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE) while Abdulkadir Saidu is the new Executive Secretary of Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA),” the statement read.

“Mary Ikpere-Eta is the new Director-General of the National Centre for Women Development (NCWD), while Bayo Somefun is the new Managing Director of Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF).

“Ibrahim Musa Goni and Nnenna Akajemeli were appointed Conservator-General/Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of National Park Service (NPS) and CEO of Service Compact (SERVICOM).

“Tunde Erukera was appointed Executive Secretary of Consumer Protection Council and Mohammed Bello Tukur was appointed Executive Secretary Federal Character Commission.

“Umar Gambo Jibrin is the new Executive Secretary of Federal Capital Development Authority and Folashade Joseph is the Managing Director-General Administrative Staff College of Nigeria (ASCON).

“Cecilia Umaru Gaya was appointed Executive Secretary of Lagos International Trade Fair management board.

“Jef Barminas is Director-General was appointed National Research Institute for Chemical Technology, while Haruna Yerima Director General Nigeria Institute for Social and Economic Research (NISER).”