Goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi once again emerged the heroine as the Super Falcons beat South Africa 4-3 on penalty to win the 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations.

Asisat Oshoala lost a penalty at regulation time, among other great chances the team failed to convert as Nigeria dominated play till the end of 90 minutes.

The tie went into extra time, but South Africa failed to do a double against Nigeria in Accra after a 1-0 victory in the opener.

Also read: 3 Quick Steps To Get New BOUNCE FOOTBALL Feature

The game went into penalty shootout, and Nigeria’s first shot hit the bar and bounced back as Onome Ebi buried her head in frustration.

super falcons

But South Africa went on to lose their third penalty and the fifth too, with Nigeria scoring their remaining shots.

Super Falcons’ triumph makes Nigeria a record winner for the 11th time.

Aside Nigeria, only Equatorial Guinea has won the AWCON title (2008, 2012) since its inception in 1991.

Don’t forget to share this article with your friends and family.

ALSO WATCH: AWCON 2018: Bounce Sports Exclusive Chat With Super Falcons