Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki has just entered the Senate chamber to preside over plenary.

He entered the chamber at about 10:40am.

It was gathered that his decision to shun the police invitation and attend plenary is not unconnected with the Legislative House (Powers and Privileges) Act, which prevents security operatives from arresting serving lawmakers within the premises of the Senate.

READ: DSS, EFCC Storm Ekweremadu's House

He has also gone ahead to read a letter on the floor of the Senate which notifies the House about the defection of some lawmakers.

Senators already at the Senate as of the time of filing this report include: Senate Leader, Ahmad Lawan; Dino Melaye, Abdullahi Adamu, Samuel Anyanwu, Hope Uzodinma, Mohammed Hassan.

Other include Shabba Lagiagi, Ovie Omo-Agege, Nelson Effiong, Atai Aidoko, Stella Oduah, Clifford Odia, Robert Boroffice, Abdullahi Gumel and Albert Bassey.

You like this article? Don’t forget to share it!

WATCH: Why Nigeria's Drug Abuse Problem May Not End Soon (TRAILER)