The year 2018 has been a spectacular one for Croatia and Real Madrid star Luka Modric and it got just better on Monday night as the midfield maestro was crowned the Best Fifa's men's player of 2018.

Modric beat the duo of Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to become the winner of the men's category at the climax of the Best Fifa Football Awards show at the Royal Festival Hall in London on Monday night.

The Real Madrid midfielder broke the 10-year Lionel Messi/Ronaldo duopoly, with Modric the first player other than the pair to win the award for over a decade.

In the period under review, Modric won the Champions League with Real Madrid and reached the World Cup final with Croatia amongst other giant strides.

In other categories, legendary Brazilian forward Marta and first-time nominee Reynald Pedros were rewarded as The Best FIFA Women’s Player and Women’s coach respectively.

For the best goalkeeper award, Thibaut Courtois was voted winner ahead of the duo of Kasper Schmeichel and Hugo Lloris.

Lennart Thy emerged as the Winner of The FIFA Fair Play Award 2018 while Salah won the 2018 FIFA Puskas Award for his sensational goal against Everton at Anfield last season.

Goals by Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and even Lionel Messi’s goal against Nigeria at the World Cup were all on the shortlist but there were not considered better than Salah’s stunning derby strike.

In the final category, for best support, fans of Peru very voted ahead of  the other nominees.


Fifa Fifpro World XI

David de Gea (Manchester United)


Dani Alves (Paris Saint-Germain)


Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)


Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)


Marcelo (Real Madrid)


Luka Modric (Real Madrid)


N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)


Eden Hazard (Chelsea)


Lionel Messi (Barcelona)


Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)


Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Don’t forget to please share this story with your friends and family...